Atlantic Cape News

Amanda McCullough :

  • Amanda McCullough
  • Atlantic Cape Community College
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, New Jersey, 08330
  • 609-343-4923

Atlantic Cape Community College 2018 President’s Distinguished Alumni Recipients Honored

May 1, 2018

The Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation honored two 2018 recipients of the President’s Distinguished Alumni Award on April 19 at Careme’s Restaurant located in the Academy of Culinary Arts.

Established in 2010, The President’s Distinguished Alumni Award has been presented annually to graduates of Atlantic Cape that have differentiated themselves through professional, public, or community-based accomplishments. The new 2018 honorees truly represent Atlantic Cape’s mission and serve as exemplary role models for our current and future students.

Distinguished alumni recipients along with their family members enjoyed a three-course meal prepared by the culinary students of the Academy of Culinary Arts and were presented with the President’s Distinguished Alumni award medallions and certificates of appreciation.

This year’s recipients are Raymond Davis, ’92 of Egg Harbor Township, and Maria Mento, ’77 of Ventnor. Raymond Davis is the Chief of Police of Egg Harbor Township and is very active in the Atlantic County community, serving as the president of the Atlantic County Chiefs of Police Association, the Vice-Chairperson of the Egg Harbor Township Recreation Commission, and a coach for youth baseball, hockey and soccer. Maria Mento retired from the ACUA in 2015 after 24 years of service, where she served as the chief finance officer and executive vice president. She is the current Vice-President of the Board of Trustees for Atlantic Cape Community and has a long history of making a difference in our community through her work with the United Way, American Red Cross, and Association of Environmental Authorities of New Jersey. She is currently serving as the city administrator for Ventnor City.

The past recipients include: 2017, Dr. Robert L. Vogel, ’68 of Savannah, Georgia; Dr. Brian Kirchner, ’78 of Absecon; MaryAnne Figueroa, ’68 of Hammonton; Chef Joseph Sheridan, ’96 of Somers Point; Dr. Carole Dieterly, ’08 of Breinigsville, Pennsylvania; and Kimberly Richardson, ’10 of Mays Landing; 2010, Janice DeCicco Fipp, ’70 of Northfield; 2011, Michael Rann, Esq., ‘88 of Linwood; 2012, Katherine Morris, Esq, ’90 of Galloway; 2013, Dr. Valerie Travis-Reese, ’82 of Camden; 2014, Thomas Innocente, ’71 of Somers Point; 2015, Stephen Dunn, ’68 of Atlantic City; 2016, Gloryvie Reyes, ’01 of Sicklerville; and 2016, Terri Lu Schieder, ’79 of Somers Point.

This year’s recipients will also be recognized at Atlantic Cape’s commencement on May 17 by Dr. Barbara Gaba, president of the college.

For more information about the Atlantic Cape Alumni Association and activities for alumni, contact Kristin Jackson at or 609-463-3621.