Atlantic Cape News

Amanda McCullough :

  • Amanda McCullough
  • Atlantic Cape Community College
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, New Jersey, 08330
  • 609-343-4923

11th Annual Communication Awards to Recognize 84 Winners, Honor Dr. Joy Jones-Carmack

April 9, 2018

The eleventh annual Communication Awards will be held at 7 p.m., Friday, April 27, in the Walter Edge Theater at Atlantic Cape Community College. The Oscar-style event will feature student-produced videos and performances by five “Communication Major of the Year” nominees: David Bauder of Egg Harbor Township, Niko Berardo of Absecon, Megan Nickerson of Galloway, Nick Rollins of Egg Harbor Township and Jake Vitale of Linwood. Individual students, alumni, faculty and media professionals will be awarded for their work in the field.

In a special tribute, Dr. Joy Jones-Carmack of Egg Harbor Township, now a Stockton University business professor, will be honored for the impact she made on the Communication Program during her 11 years with Atlantic Cape Community College. Nick “NorEaster” Pittman of SNJ Today and Heather DeLuca of SOJO 104.9 will host the show.

The show will also feature remarks by Mark Berkey-Gerard, chair of the journalism department at Rowan University, who will be receiving a Faculty Pioneer Award.

The top award winners include: Gary Panter of Absecon, winning seven awards; Ethan Gabrysz of Brigantine, winning six awards; Eric Smith of Hammonton and Iridian Gonzalez of Somers Point, each winning four awards; and Robin Barry of Seaville and Gabby Wyand of Marmora, each winning three awards.

There will be a reception preceding the show at 6 p.m. in the lobby of the Walter Edge Theater at the Mays Landing Campus, 5100 Black Horse Pike.

For more information, contact Associate Professor of Communication Keith Forrest at (609) 343-4994 or