ACA Receives ACF Accreditation Renewal

The Academy of Culinary Arts received renewal programmatic accreditation from the American Culinary Federation Education Foundation Accrediting Commission in July 2012.

ACF accreditation ensures the Academy's programs in culinary arts and baking and pastry meet the standards and competencies set for faculty, curriculum and student services.

"Renewal of our American Culinary Federation accreditation confirms our efforts in providing an excellent education to our students. It provides national recognition of our program and allows our graduates to apply for certification as culinarians,' said Chef Kelly McClay, ACA dean.

Tie for Atlantic Cape's Teacher of the Year

The Atlantic Cape Community College 2012 Teacher of the Year vote resulted in a tie. Students chose faculty members William Osler and Jay Peterson as part of the Student Government Association election ballot.

Osler, assistant professor of mathematics, received both his bachelor's and master's degrees in mathematics from Rowan University and has been teaching at Atlantic Cape since fall 2008.

Peterson, associate professor of English, earned a master's degree in English from the University of Cincinnati and bachelor's degrees in English and philosophy from Rutgers University. He began teaching at Atlantic Cape more than eight years ago.

Dean Kelly McClay Named Educator of the Year

Dean Kelly McClay

Chef Patricia "Kelly" McClay, dean of the Academy of Culinary Arts, was named Educator of the Year by the Professional Chefs Association of South Jersey, a chapter of the American Culinary Federation. McClay was honored at the organization's 38th Annual President's Scholarship Ball in February 2012, in Atlantic City.

The award is presented to an educator whose knowledge, skills and expertise have enhanced the image of the professional chef. The recipient should also demonstrate the ability to help students define and develop their careers by using their skills and abilities to provide a strong foundation for their future success.

Atlantic Cape Review Captures Awards for Journalistic Excellence

The Atlantic Cape Review, the college's student-run newspaper, was recognized for journalistic excellence in the 2011-2012 New Jersey Collegiate Press Association's journalism contest. The staff submitted entries and won three awards in the two-year college circulation division.

Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, ACR's business manager, won second place in the News Writing Category for her article, "Pizza lures crowd but SGA doesn't hold them" in the Winter 2012 issue. In the Feature Writing category, Devon Schmolk of Cape May Court House, staff writer, won first place for his article, "Breast cancer weakens bodies but strengthens souls in Cape May County," and staff writer Tyler Carman of North Cape May won second place for his story, "Is Graffiti Art or Vandalism,?" both in the October-November 2011 issue.

Mary McWilliams of Wildwood Crest served as faculty advisor.

ACA's Chef Annmarie Chelius Wins 2012 National Spirit of Women Award

ACAís Chef Annmarie Chelius Wins 2012 National Spirit of Women Award

Annmarie Chelius, an Academy of Culinary Arts chef educator, was named the 2012 Spirit of Women National Award winner in the Community Hero in Action category and was honored for her extensive community involvement in July 2012. In May, Chelius was recognized as the 2012 National AtlantiCare Mary Ann Coyle Community Hero award recipient, which led to the national distinction.

Chelius, who has taught baking and pastry classes at the ACA for the last 17 years, became active in the Chefs Move to Schools initiative under First Lady Michelle Obama's Let's Move! wellness campaign in 2010. In an effort to promote nutrition, Chelius "adopted" the Ocean City Intermediate School, teaching students how to prepare simple, healthy and delicious meals.

Katz Elected President of International Hospitality Council

In the summer of 2012, Dr. Josette Katz, professor of hospitality management, was elected to a one-year term as president of the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education (ICHRIE), the global advocate of hospitality and tourism education for schools, colleges and universities.

Katz served as vice president-elect of ICHRIE from 2011-2012, and has been a commissioner for both the Commission for Accreditation in Hospitality Management and Distance Education and Training Council.

Corbalis Named National NCMPR Secretary

Kathy J. Corbalis, APR, executive director, college relations, was elected secretary to the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations in March 2012, at the group's annual conference in San Francisco. Corbalis has served on the board of directors for NCMPR, an affiliate of the American Association of Community Colleges, for seven years, serving as District I Director and Director-at-Large before joining the group's executive committee.

President Elected to Leadership Position, Receives National Award

Dr. Peter Mora

In fall 2011, Dr. Mora was elected to serve a two-year term on the New Jersey Council of County Colleges' Executive Committee. As part of the seven-member executive committee, which includes four community college trustees and three community college presidents, Dr. Mora will help shape statewide community college policies and projects. He will also hold the position of vice chairperson of the New Jersey Community College Presidents group.

Phi Theta Kappa recognized the president with its Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction at its 2012 Annual Convention in Nashville. The award recognizes college presidents and campus CEOs who show and provide extensive support to their college's PTK chapter.