Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Atlantic Cape Presents 68 Communication and Art Awards

May 7, 2010

Atlantic Cape Community College hosted the 3rd Annual Communication and Art Awards ceremony Friday, April 30, at the Mays Landing Campus.

Mike Richman and Diane Mitchell of WAYV's "Mike and Diane Morning Show" served as emcees. The evening included a performance by NBC-40 news anchor and singer/songwriter Michelle Dawn Mooney, who was also honored as an Outstanding Media Professional.

Public relations professional Larry Litwin, a professor at Rowan University, spoke at the event and was honored as an Outstanding Public Relations Professional. Other speakers included Ed Hitzel, publisher of Ed Hitzel's Restaurant Magazine, Assistant Professor of Communication Keith Forrest, College President Dr. Peter L. Mora, Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Art Wexler, Alumna of the Year Alicia Hartgrove, and Ben Marks, 2009 recipient of the Communication Major of the Year award.

Five students competed for the Communication Major of the Year award, which went to Jon Ledford of Galloway.

Winners of the Public Speaking Awards were: Best Debate Speeches, Nicole Demarco of Somers Point and Peter Usilton of Belleplain; Best Informative Speeches, Lena Curtis of Minotoia, Tom Darpino of Mays Landing, Robert Francis Gibbs of Ocean City, Madison Russ of Ocean City and Nichole Scales of Mays Landing; Best Persuasive Speeches, Stephanie Pincus of Northfield; and Best Call to Action Speeches, Kristy Richman of Cape May Court House.

Mass Media Awards winners were: Best Mass Media Paper, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City and Marquesa Rotuski of Mays Landing; Best Mass Media Project, Gianni Gaudino of Egg Harbor Township, Demetra Nakos of Mays Landing, Michelle Lamarco of Egg Harbor City, Madison Russ of Ocean City and Jennifer Solt of Egg Harbor Township; Best Mass Media Project for the Worthington Atlantic City Campus, Darian Henderson of Newtonville; and TV Club Award, David Alper of Margate.

News Awards winners were: Best News Stories, John Martin, Ryan Sheehy of Somers Point and Paul Venesz of Longport; and Best Commentaries, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City, Jackie Loder of Linwood, Erin Martin of Mays Landing and Ryan Sheehy of Somers Point.

Public Relations and Interpersonal Communication Award winners were: Best Press Releases, Robert Dougherty of Cape May Court House; Best PR Projects, Steve O'Connor of Sea Isle City, Chris Oney of Cape May, Jennifer Post of Villas and Jessica Swentkowski of Egg Harbor Township, Anthony Quinones of Wildwood and Tracy Schmidt of Somers Point; Best PR Practitioner, Mark Stansbury North Cape May; and Best Interpersonal Paper, Emily Gajtkowski of Egg Harbor City and Arielle Reamer of Galloway.

Creative Writing and Theater Awards winners were: Best Poem, Christina Migioia of Ventnor City, Dan Sanchez of Atlantic City and Mark Stansbury of North Cape May; Best Fiction, Matt Turner of Woodbine and Edward Smith of Egg Harbor City; Best Short Fiction, Steve O'Connor of Sea Isle City; Best Memoir, Jennifer Hartung of Rio Grande and Megan Kobialka of New Gretna; Best Playwright, Will Archer of Tuckahoe; Rewrites Award, Wendy Marchione of Brigantine; and Performing Arts Club Award, Glendin Ford Jr. of Hammonton and Jay Grasso of Hammonton.

The Art Awards winner were: Best of Show, Adam Jones; Best Drawing, Loan Pham of Egg Harbor Township; Best Intermediate Drawing, Rinaldo Smith of Mays Landing; Best 2DWork, Julia Luangrath of Mays Landing; Best Watercolor, Lee Newton; Best Ceramic, Michelle Mauro of Brigantine; Best 3D Work, Matthew Fox of Egg Harbor Township; Best Sculpture, Pat Taylor of Woodbine; Best Digital Artwork, Ivey Giga of Pleasantville; Best Photograph, Mark Osunero-Lanuza of Egg Harbor City; Best Craft, Rebecca Burgard of Mays Landing; and Art Club Award, Michelle Mauro of Brigantine.

Pioneer and Achievement Awards winners were: Outstanding Achievement, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City; Professional Pioneer, Gregory Wheeldon of Ocean City High School media teacher; Student Pioneers, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City, Cory D'Amore of Dorothy, Anne Kemp of Egg Harbor Township, Jon Ledford of Galloway, Erin Martin of Mays Landing, Arielle Reamer of Galloway, Juliann Scott of Ocean View, Janay Reaves of Egg Harbor Township and Daniel Philippi of Egg Harbor Township; Faculty Pioneers, Lisa Apel-Gendron of Dennisville, Heather Boone of Hammonton, Buddy Jacobs of Pleasantville and Jim Taggart of Pomona.

Alicia Hartgrove ('06) of Glassboro received the Alumna of the Year Award.