Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Trustees Approve Annual Appointments, Revise FY'11 Budget

February 26, 2010

Meeting in regular session Feb. 23, Atlantic Cape Community College's Board of Trustees re-appointed staff, faculty and counselors and revised the college's FY'11 budget to reflect additional income and expenditures.

The board made these reappointments for one year, effective July 1:

Administrative and Supervisory Personnel Included in the Bargaining Unit: Lisa Apel-Gendron, Michelle Bevan, Avon Chapman, Josephine Chivalette, Debbie Ciarrocki, Cynthia Correa, Paula Davis, Linda DeSantis, Carol Drea, Dorothea Dunayer, John Feldbauer, Christine Gamboa, Nicholas Ganaway, Megan Gargiulo, Patricia Heller, Leslie Jamison, Maria Kellett, Michael Kernan, Kathleen Landau, Linda McLeod, John Mohr, Luis Montefusco, Heather Peterson, Geoffrey Pettifer, Anita Polanco, Nancy Porfido, Regina Skinner, Mariangela Sozio, Patrick Sweeney, Sherwood Taylor and Michael Wozniak.

Exempt Administrative and Supervisory Personnel:  Kathleen Corbalis, Cindy DeFalco, Patricia Gentile, Brittany Goldstein, Douglas Hedges, Otto Hernandez, Bruce Johns, William Keener, Jean McAlister, Ronald McArthur, Patricia McClay, Richard Perniciaro, Paula Pitcher, Bobby Royal Sr., Carmen Royal, Therese Sampson, Charles Schaeffer, Catherine Skinner, Mark Streckenbein, Robert Townsend, Arthur Wexler and Grant Wilinski.

ACA Educators: Annmarie Chelius, Ellen Clark, Philip Cragg, Suzanne Feye, Michael Huber, Daniel Matt, Mary Theresa McCann, Jeffrey Phillips, George Richert, Joseph Sheridan, Vincent Tedeschi, James Usilton and Linda Wohlman.

Faculty Without Tenure: Carolyn Coulter, Leila Crawford, Christine English-Martin, Maryann Flemming-McCall, Claude Fortune, Barbara Heard, Thomas Innocente Sr., Joy Jones, Gwen McIntyre, Stephanie Natale, William Osler, Judith Otterburn-Martinez,  Shirley Shields, Mary Wunnenberg and BoJan Zilovic.

These Faculty Earned Tenure with This Appointment:  Kristi Bergman, Michael Bolicki, Al Jou, Donna Marie McElroy, Vickie Melograno and Augustine Nigro.

Counselor I:  Tammy DeFranco, Lynette Ingram, Dennis Jones, Hal Lugerner and David Pringle.

Counselor II:  Ellen Splaver.

The board approved these promotions, all effective Aug. 30:  Richard Benner, from assistant to associate professor of arts and humanities; Myra Caplan from assistant to associate professor of allied health; Myrna Morales-Keklak from assistant to associate professor of nursing; and Lisa Stein from assistant to associate professor of social science.

Sabbatical leaves were granted to: John Atsu-Swanzy, assistant professor, mathematics, one semester, fall 2010; Gerri Black, assistant professor, English, one semester, spring 2011; and Dr. James MacNair, associate professor, sociology, one semester, spring 2011.

In Budget Action, the Board:

--Approved the Jan. 31, 2010, financial statement.

--Approved the amended unrestricted FY'10 budget consisting of revenue of $42,198,860 and expenditures of $41,494,836 (including FY'09 encumbrances of $295,976).  Increases in revenue of approximately $2 million will offset $1 million in unanticipated expenses, ongoing strategic initiatives and increased contingency funds.

--Okayed the transfer of $520,000 from the FY'09 year-end unrestricted fund balance to the FY'09 unrestricted plant fund. The funds will support approximately $333,960 for customization of the Colleague management information system and $186,040 for project maintenance contracts and consultant travel reimbursement costs. 

--Reallocated $67,783 from the greenhouse café project to the repurposing of an existing baseball field for women's softball.

In other action, the board agreed to apply for up to $3 million toward the $16 million cost of the Science, Technology, Engineering & Math building from the Chapter 12 FY'11 allocation. They also granted approval for the college to apply for FY'11Congressional appropriations of $300,000 to construct and equip the Aviation and Technology Studies Institute within the STEM building; $300,000 to enhance Health Professions Institute capacity; and $130,000 to construct and operate a photovoltaic installation training program. If awarded, the grants would run from approximately October 2010 through September 2011.

Board Approves Purchases, Contracts:

--Commissioning services, Science Technology Engineering & Math Building, Dome-Tech, Inc., Edison, $43,723.

--Grease trap replacement; Broadley's/MDI, Marmora, $21,575.

--Management information system, core business software implementation, Datatel, Fairfax, Va., $333,960.

--Construction manager, STEM

In the President's Report:

--Dr. Mora introduced Connie Walton, office coordinator, adjunct development and faculty support office, who was honored as the college's new Employee of the Quarter.  An Atlantic Cape graduate and an employee since 1999, Connie was recognized for her "professionalism, cheerfulness and organizational skills," according to Brittany Goldstein, associate dean, human resources, president & board of trustees services, who recognized her.

--Foundation President Charles Pessagno and Trustee Don Parker gave a presentation on the college's Capital & Scholarship Campaign, now in its "quiet" phase where it seeks commitments from the College's closest supporters.  Pessagno and Parker explained how the board can support the campaign and asked for their participation.

--Dr. Richard Perniciaro, dean of facilities, planning and research, gave an overview of the solar photovoltaic project the board approved at its January meeting.  Through the power purchase agreement, Pepco Energy Services will build a 2.3 megawatt solar system on parking lot canopies on the Mays Landing and Cape May County campuses which will generate more than 50 percent of Atlantic Cape's energy requirements.

--Dr. Arthur Wexler, vice president of academic affairs, reported on the recent Faculty Development Day which featured Dr. Mike Scheuermann of Drexel University, a nationally known instructional technology expert.

--Dr. Mora commented on the Senatorial Constituent Day where he met with Sen. Robert Menendez and staff members to discuss Blueprint 2020 plans and how the college affects the regional workforce.

--Dr. Mora and Kathy Corbalis, College Relations, reported on the Feb. 21 Press of Atlantic City front-page coverage and accompanying stories that outlined the college's plans for technology training as well as the wide range of programs if offers and students it serves.  Dr. Mora thanked Education Writer Diane D'Amico for her work.

--Goldstein reviewed March events on the Board Activity Calendar.


The next meeting of the Board of Trustees will be held at 7 p.m., Tuesday, March 23, at the Worthington Atlantic City Campus, 1535 Bacharach Blvd. All are invited to attend.