Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

ACCC Names Marjorie Ward Scholarship Winners

June 10, 2009

Atlantic Cape Community College selected three Cape May County high school students to receive full-tuition Marjorie Ward Leaders Scholarships. The students will enroll in ACCC classes this fall.

The winners are: Raymond Jefferson of Cape May Court House, Middle Township High School; Nicholas Heishman of North Cape May, Lower Cape May Regional High School; and Kimberly Becher of Wildwood Crest, Cape May County Technical High School.

The ACCC Foundation established the scholarship program in 2005 in honor of former Cape May County resident Marjorie Ward, who left $500,000 to ACCC. Under terms of her will, ACCC created an endowment to fund scholarships for Cape May County students. These students will receive full tuition to the college for two years, leadership skills training and support from the college's Office of Student Services.

Ward was a retired educator who passed away in 2004 at the age of 105. She taught for many years in the Montclair school system and retired in 1958 to Cape May.

ACCC's full-service Cape May County Campus is located on Cape May Court House-South Dennis Road adjacent to the 4-H Fairgrounds. The three-story, nearly 68,000-square-foot facility houses a combination library and computer lab, 19 classrooms, science labs, a cafeteria and more.