Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Foundation Board Names New Members and Reappoints Others

May 20, 2009

The Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation added new members and reappointed others at its annual meeting April 23.

Joining the 32-member board are:

  • Edward F. Batten of Glassboro, director of food service/executive chef at Harrah's Resort Atlantic City, who succeeds outgoing member R. Scott Barber of Atlantic City for the remainder of his 2008-2011 term.
  • Kimberly McCarron of Ventnor, senior associate of SOSH Architects of Atlantic City.
  • Nicholas T. Menas, Esq. of Linwood, a partner in Cooper Levenson April Niedelman and Wagenheim in Atlantic City.
  • Hallie M. Reese of Mays Landing, vice president-safety and strategic services for Pepco Holdings, Inc.

These members will serve a three-year term.

The following were re-appointed: Karen Brundage-Johnson of Egg Harbor Township, Jay Ford of Wildwood and Matthew Moeller of Haddonfield.

The following members stepped down from the board and were honored for their service: R. Scott Barber of Atlantic City, Robyn Begley of Folsom, Bill Cottman of Rio Grande, Frank Forde of Absecon, Konrad Herr of Mays Landing, Joanne Kay of Wildwood Crest and Bob Patterson of Wildwood Crest.

In its history, the Foundation has raised more than $2 million for college scholarships, academic programs and enhancing the campus environment, including $203,000 this year from the 2009 Atlantic Cape Community College Restaurant Gala. It allocated $218,000 for 2009-2010 scholarships.

Founded in 1978 as an independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit charity, the Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation is dedicated to serving the mission of ACCC by providing financial support to the college and its students. Foundation funds provide college scholarships to students with financial need, capital for campus improvements, and cultural and educational programs.