Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Trustees Approve $40.2 Million FY'10 Budget; Increase Tuition, Some Fees

February 26, 2009

Atlantic Cape Community College's Board of Trustees adopted a $40,198,860 Fiscal Year 2010 revenue budget and voted to increase tuition and some fees to support the fiscal plan. The FY'10 budget includes a county appropriation of $8,749,715, which was approved at the Board of School Estimate meeting Feb. 6 with Atlantic and Cape May County officials.

Dr. Mora gave a comprehensive overview of the budget, pointing out examples of the institution's mission-based commitment to superior programs as well as cost containment strategies it employs.  He emphasized that the budget plan represented the best efforts of the college to provide the resources needed to fulfill the published mission while maintaining affordability for students.

County and state allocations provide 22 and 16 percent, respectively, of college revenues in the new budget, with tuition and fees covering 59 percent.  The budget is based on a projected average credit hour enrollment increase of 4 percent for FY'10.

A year's tuition and fees for a full-time student taking 12 credits a semester will rise $146.40 to $2,724 from $2,577.60, an increase of 5.5 percent. The general education tuition rate will rise 5.2 percent to $93 from $88.40 for in-county students, to $186 from $176.80 for out-of-county students and to $372 from $353.60 for out-of-state and foreign students. Culinary tuition will go to $280 from $265.20 with corresponding increases for out-of-county, state and foreign students. Online tuition will rise to $114 a credit from $107.60.

The general fee increased by $1.50 per credit to $11.50 from $10. The culinary program fee increased 3.2 percent to $258 per credit from $250. The nursing clinical fee increased 2.9 percent to $216 from $210 per credit.

In discussing the fee changes, David A. Evans, treasurer, said the college would work with the ACCC Foundation and the Advancement Office to secure grants-in-aid and scholarships for students in need.

Preliminary figures indicate ACCC will remain in the lower third of community colleges statewide with tuition and per credit fees of $113.50. The new tuition and fee schedule begins with the 2009 summer session.

In other Business, the Board:

--Approved the submission of the Science Technology Engineering and Math building project from the Chapter 12 FY'10 allocation at a sum not to exceed $2.5 million.

--Approved the addition of a Hospitality Studies Wing at the Worthington Atlantic City Campus to the college's Facilities Master Plan Blueprint 2020.

--Granted approval for the college to begin a gypsy moth control program in compliance with the N.J. Department of Agriculture recommendations.

--Approved transfer of $450,000 from FY'08 year-end unrestricted fund balance to the FY'09 unrestricted plant fund in support of the new MIS system.

Board Approves Promotions, Sabbatical Leaves:

The board approved these faculty promotions, effective Aug. 31:

--Rita Michalenko, associate professor, arts/humanities

--James Sacchinelli, associate professor, science

--Lenora Sheppard, associate professor, mathematics

The board approved these sabbatical leaves:

--Marilyn Malbera Keiner, professor, paralegal studies, a one semester leave for fall 2009.

--Cheryl Knowles-Harrigan, assistant professor, art, a one semester leave for spring 2010.

Both were accepted into the prestigious Princeton Mid-Career Fellowship Program and will participate in the Fellow's Seminar.

The board made these reappointments for one year, effective July 1:

Administrative and Supervisory Personnel included in the Bargaining Unit: Lisa Apel-Gendron, Michelle Bevan, Janet Brenner, Avon Chapman, Josephine Chivalette, Debbie Ciarrocki, Cynthia Correa, Paula Davis, Linda DeSantis, Carol Drea, Dorothea Dunayer, John Feldbauer, Christine Gamboa, Nicholas Ganaway, Megan Gargiulo, Patricia Heller, Leslie Jamison, Maria Kellett, Michael Kernan, Kathleen Landau, Linda McLeod, John Mohr, Luis Montefusco, Heather Peterson, Geoffrey Pettifer, Anita Polanco, Nancy Porfido, Regina Skinner, Mariangela Sozio, Patrick Sweeney, Sherwood Taylor and Michael Wozniak.

Exempt Administrative and Supervisory Personnel:  Kathleen Corbalis, Cindy DeFalco, Patricia Gentile, Douglas Hedges, Bruce Johns, William Keener, Jean McAlister, Ronald McArthur, Patricia McClay, Richard Perniciaro, Paula Pitcher, Joseph Rossi (through Sept. 18 due to retirement), Bobby Royal Sr., Carmen Royal, Therese Sampson, Charles Schaeffer, Catherine Skinner, Mark Streckenbein, Robert Townsend, Arthur Wexler, Grant Wilinski and Brittany Williams.

ACA Educators: Annmarie Chelius, Ellen Clark, Philip Cragg, Suzanne Feye, Michael Huber, Daniel Matt, Mary Theresa McCann, Jeffrey Phillips, George Richert, Joseph Sheridan, Vincent Tedeschi, James Usilton and Linda Wohlman.

Faculty without Tenure: Kristi Bergman, Michael Bolicki, Carolyn Coulter, Leila Crawford, Christine English-Martin, Maryann Flemming-McCall, Claude Fortune, Barbara Heard, Thomas Innocente Sr., Joy Jones, Al Jou, Donna Marie McElroy, Gwen McIntyre, Vickie Melograno, Stephanie Natale, Augustine Nigro, William Osler, Judith Otterburn-Martinez,  Shirley Shields and Mary Wunnenberg.

Counselor I:  Tammy DeFranco, Lynette Ingram, Dennis Jones, Hal Lugerner and David Pringle.

Counselor II:  Ellen Splaver.

Librarian I: Cheryl Kirby.

These faculty earned tenure with this appointment:  John Atsu-Swanzy, Heather Boone, Keith Forrest, JoAnna Johns, William Lemons, Sandra Linek and Jay Peterson.

In Grants News, the Board:

--Granted approval to apply for the N.J. Department of Education Tech Prep Grant from Sept. 1, 2009-Aug. 31, 2010, for a minimum of $60,000, to improve, expand and promote quality vocational education programs in law and public safety. The grant application proposes a consortium with Cape May County Technical School District as lead agency and ACCC and Richard Stockton College as partners.

--Approved December 2008 expenses for the Adult Ed Grant FY09 for Cape May County Technical High School, $31,232.42.

In Contracts, the Board:

--Datatel, Fairfax, Va., Project Management MIS Implementation, for an estimated $348,000.

--Sysix Technologies, Lombard, Ill., IBM P520 Series Server, $32,215.59.

--Atlantic County Improvement Authority, professional services, under the Project Management Interagency Agreement - Shared Service Capital Projects, to manage up to 12 construction projects this summer, not to exceed $105,350.

In the President's Report:

--Dr. Mora and Dean Bobby Royal reported on the events celebrating Black History Month at ACCC's campuses. Dr. Mora reported he filmed a segment at the Worthington Atlantic City Campus with Freeholder James Curcio for NJ News. They discussed community college responsiveness, programs and services and WACC Hospitality Studies Center.

--ACCC hosted an AARP event giving seniors the opportunity to voice their concerns to Congressman Frank LoBiondo.

--Brittany Williams, interim associate dean of human resources and labor relations, executive assistant to the president and director for board services, gave an update on board activities. Visit for more information.

Minutes of each board meeting are approved at the following month's meeting.  Full minutes are then posted at

The next meeting of the board of trustees will be held at 7 p.m., Tuesday, March 24, at the Worthington Atlantic City Campus, 1535 Bacharach Blvd.  All are welcome to attend.