Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Atlantic Cape Board Approves Voting Power for Alumni Member

January 31, 2014

In a move that will allow for a direct voice of the student population on college decisions, the Atlantic Cape Community College Board of Trustees amended its bylaws to grant voting power to the alumni board member at its Jan. 28 meeting.

Previously, the alumni representative, who is elected by the immediate graduating class for a one-year term, could engage in board discussion and serve on standing committees, but did not have formal voting authority. The change to the bylaws gives voting power to the alumni member beginning with the graduating class of 2014.

“The alumni representative on the Board of Trustees is an essential piece to ensure that students are heard,” said Dr. Peter L. Mora, president. “This change will give that trustee an enhanced ability to advocate on behalf of the students of Atlantic Cape.”

The new structure is consistent with the college’s Student Success Initiative and places the voice of the person most likely to understand the direct experience of Atlantic Cape students with the stronger ability to advocate for students at the board level.

“The board has long looked to the alumni trustees for their understanding of what it means to be an Atlantic Cape student, and this change, while it does imply a greater responsibility for the alumni trustee, will result in an enhanced Atlantic Cape Board of Trustees,” said Board Chair David Evans.

The current alumni representative is Harrison Furman of Linwood, who earned an associate degree in business administration in 2013.

The board will now consist of 15 voting members, 14 of which are appointed in accordance with the laws of the State of New Jersey, one of which will be elected from the immediate graduating class. The board includes seven members appointed by the county executive of Atlantic County, with approval of the freeholders, and three members are appointed by the Cape May County Board of Chosen Freeholders. The county superintendents of schools of Atlantic and Cape May counties are also members. Two members, one from each county, are appointed by the governor.