Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

ACCC Names Marjorie Ward Scholarship Winners

June 8, 2006

Atlantic Cape Community College selected six Cape May County high school students to receive full-tuition Marjorie Ward Leaders Scholarships. The students will enroll in classes this fall at ACCC.

The winners are: Gino Amon of Cape May Court House, Middle Township High School; Gerald Griffin of Villas, Lower Cape May Regional High School; Stevie Harris of Wildwood, Wildwood High School; Samantha Price of Woodbine, Cape May County Technical High School; Reyna Soto of Ocean City, Ocean City High School; and Arielle Zauck of Ocean View, Ocean City High School.

The ACCC Foundation established the scholarship program in 2005 in honor of former Cape May County resident Marjorie Ward, who left $500,000 to ACCC. Under terms of her will, ACCC created an endowment to fund scholarships for Cape May County students. These students will receive full tuition to the college for two years, leadership skills training and support from the college’s Office of Student Services.

Ward was a retired educator who passed away in 2004 at the age of 105. She taught for many years in the Montclair school system and retired in 1958 to Cape May.

ACCC opened a full-service campus in Middle Township last fall on Cape May Court House-South Dennis Road adjacent to the 4-H Fairgrounds. The three-story, nearly 68,000-square-foot facility houses a combination library and computer lab, 19 classrooms—including chemistry and biology labs, computer labs and more.