Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Atlantic Cape Presents 124 Communication and Art Awards

May 15, 2012

Atlantic Cape Community College hosted the 5th Annual Communication and Art Awards ceremony on May 4, at the Mays Landing Campus.

Mike Richman of WAYV’s Mike and Diane Morning Show and Chelsea Pizzi, Atlantic Cape’s public relations and social media specialist, served as emcees. The evening included an appearance by NBC-40 meteorologist Dan Skeldon, who was also honored as an Outstanding Media Professional. 

Other speakers included Assistant Professors of Communication Keith Forrest of Collingswood and Joy Jones of Smithville, College President Dr. Peter L. Mora of Palermo and Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, 2011 recipient of the Communication Major of the Year award.

Five students competed for the Communication Major of the Year award, which went to Kenneth Kin of Galloway.

The Best of Show award for the Atlantic Cape Art Gallery Faculty Selects: Annual Student Show, 2012 exhibit went to Singuar Yuen of Galloway for Little Girl.

Creative Writing, Theater and Computer Art Awards winners were: Best Poem, Cherie Chetyrbok of Galloway, Amy Cooper Mays Landing, Aubrianna Fouts of Egg Harbor Township, Gabriela La Cava of Egg Harbor Township, James Magee of Erma; Branden Rosenberg Egg Harbor Township; Best Fiction, Matt Ash of Marmora, Jamilynn Gonzalez of Egg Harbor City; Best Short Fiction, Cherie Chetyrbok of Galloway; Best Short Story, Laura Pancoast of Somers Point; Best Drama, Joel Ollander of Galloway; Best Memoir, Robery Dulaney of Mays Landing; Best Creative Non-Fiction, Richard Thai of Egg Harbor Township; Best Screenplay, James Evans of Mays Landing; Best Short Play, Kya Montague of Millville; Rewrites, John A. Guttschall of Egg Harbor City; Best Drawing, Cynthia Pachero of Northfield; and Best Advanced Art with Computers, Liz Robles of Mays Landing.

The Public Speaking, Performing Arts and Multidimensional Art Awards winners were: Best Debate Speeches, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, Erin Martin of Mays Landing; Best Informative Speeches, Lauren Colella of Galloway, Ryan Martin of Galloway, Harris Schmerling of Stone Harbor, Rebecca Sundstrom of Cape May; Best Call to Action Speech, Katherine Donnelly of Wildwood; Best Persuasive Speech, Jen Degand of Egg Harbor Township, Vanina Rimoli of Egg Harbor Township; Performing Arts, Markita Alston of Absecon, Isabella Fiore of Galloway, KJ Granger of Ocean City, Christina Rodriguez of Atlantic City; Best Photograph, Lindsay Ferrigro of Hammonton; Best 2-D Art, Brittany Bertino of Hammonton; and Best 3-D Art, Tram Dinh of Atlantic City.

The Crafts and Ceramics Awards winners were: Best Crafts, Shanise Fonville of Brigantine; Best Intermediate Ceramic, Deirdre Farside of Vineland; Best Ceramics, Jose Echevarria of Ventnor; and Art Club Award, Bill Dimeo of Hammonton. 

The Public Relations and Interpersonal Communication Awards winners were: Best Press Release, Erin Martin of Mays Landing, Maricela Vega of Ocean City; Best PR Project, Jamie Forand of Egg Harbor City, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, Autumn Foreman of Mays Landing, Maria Getty of Margate; Best PR Practitioner, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City; Best Interpersonal Paper, Helen Joseph of Ocean City; Best Interpersonal Project, Trevor Ermelin of Woodbine, Kathleen Fisher of Egg Harbor Township, Michelle Green of Mays Landing, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, Vickie Jones of Atlantic City, Tashea Jackson-Medley of Somers Point; and Best Organizational Communication Paper, Jacklyn McQuarrie of Ocean View, Tyler Casaccio of Marmora, Marciela Vega of Ocean City.

The Journalism, Sculpture and Mixed Media Award winners were: Best Investigative Journalism, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City; Best News Story Jamie Forand of Egg Harbor City, Kenneth Kin of Galloway, Madison Russ of Ocean City; Best Feature Story Lizette Salomon of Egg Harbor Township; Best Commentary Nanette Galloway of Egg Harbor City, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, Devon Schmolk of Cape May Court House; Atlantic Cape Review, Madison Russ of Ocean City; Best Sculpture, Diane Smoyah of Mays Landing; Best Mixed Media, Adam Jones of Galloway; and Best Digital Art Work, Blossom Pachero.

Mass Media and Television Award winners were: Best Mass Media Paper, Brianna Soreth of Egg Harbor Township, Bobby Speirs of Absecon; Best Mass Media Project, Matt Scheer of Mays Landing, Matt Campione of Hammonton, Alyssa Mercer of Egg Harbor Township, Dave Richartz of Wildwood; WACC Award, Christina Marie Molesse of Absecon; Best TV History Paper, Bobby Speirs of Absecon, Aris Theofanopoulos of Egg Harbor City; Best TV History Project, Gabriella Caloiero of Egg Harbor Township, Alexa Custodio of Egg Harbor Township, Haley Smith of Plesantville, Natalie Vassallo of Margate; Best Camerawork, Mike Brown, Jessica Guerrazzi of Mays Landing; Best Editing Max Fineran of Smithville; Best Talent, Samantha Donovan of Collings Lakes.

Professional Pioneer winners were: Jennie Ayres of Mays Landing; Stacey Clapp of Mays Landing; Jennifer Giardina of Mays Landing; and Chelsea Pizzi of Pitman.

Faculty Pioneer winners were: Dr. Ron McArthur of Mays Landing; Chef Kelly McClay of Mays Landing; and Richard Russell of Ocean City.

Students Terrance Alexander and Zach Langford, and media teachers David Von Roehm and Kyle Warren of Charter Tech High School for the Performing Arts won the First Annual Atlantic Cape High School Video and Film Competition. Haley Allison, Devon Appleyard, Chelsea Bright, Maddie DeVic and media teacher Elizabeth Volpe of Middle Township High School, won second place. Third place winners were: Jonathan Carrion, Jonathan Vazquez, Rachel Watson and media teacher Chuck Smith of Mainland Regional High School