Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Kathy B. McGowan
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

ACCC Foundation Board Names Six New Members, Re-elects Officers

May 1, 2006

The Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation board added six members and reelected officers at its annual meeting April 13.

Joining the 31-member board are:

• Clifton Anderson, Woodbine, acting assistant chief executive officer and executive assistant at Woodbine Developmental Center and longtime Woodbine Borough council member. He also is chairman of the Woodbine Municipal Airport Authority.
• Matthew Buesing, Cape May Court House, a loan officer with Northeast Community Lending, Egg Harbor Township. He has served on the Middle Township Board of Education, the board of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Atlantic & Cape May Counties, was a trustee of Volunteers in Medicine of Cape May County and on the board of Cape Assist.
• Dr. Mary L. Caruso, Sea Isle City, retired educator and former member of the Sea Isle City Board of Education. She was an active member of the N.J. State School Board Association and the Cape May County Board of Education.
• William G. Cottman Sr., Rio Grande, retired executive director of the Wildwood Housing Authority and former executive director of the Yorke Development Corporation. He has also been a longtime community volunteer, including scholarship golf tournaments.
• Jay M. Ford, Egg Harbor Township, president and chief executive officer of Crest Savings Bank, has worked in the financial services industry for more than 30 years. He serves on the board of Burdette Tomlin Memorial Hospital Foundation and as a trustee for St. Joseph’s Church in Somers Point. Two of his children are graduates of ACCC.

• Gregory M. Matuson, Egg Harbor Township, a certified public accountant, is senior vice president and chief financial officer-treasurer of Sturdy Savings Bank. Matuson has been in banking and accounting since graduating from Richard Stockton College of New Jersey in 1996. Also returned for a second term were the following members: Robyn Begley of Folsom, Kenneth J. Calemmo Jr. of Sea Isle, Konrad K. Herr of Mays Landing, Diane T. McKoy of Mays Landing, Matthew D. Moeller of Haddonfield and Avalon, and Robert Patterson of Wildwood Crest.

All foundation officers were reelected to two-year terms ending in 2008. The slate consists of Lynda Pagliughi of Avalon, tourism/economic development liaison with the South Jersey Transportation Authority, president; Frank Forde of Absecon, regional officiating coordinator, vice president for Atlantic County; Charles Pessagno of Cape May, president of the NIA Group, vice president for Cape May County; Dennis Stacy of Somers Point, American Express financial advisor, treasurer; and Stephen R. Nehmad, Egg Harbor Township, a partner in the law firm of Perskie Nehmad & Perillo, secretary.

Serving as executive director of the foundation is Patricia Owens of Egg Harbor Township, dean of continuing education and resource development. Kathleen Corbalis, Glassboro, executive director, college relations, was named associate director.

In its history, the Foundation has raised well over $1 million for college scholarships, academic programs and enhancing the campus environment, including more than $365,000 this year from the Cape May Gala, Cape May National Golf Tournament, Leaves for Learning beautification campaign, 2006 Press of Atlantic City Restaurant Gala, and two endowments. It has allocated more than $198,000 for 2006 scholarships.

Founded in 1978 as an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation is dedicated to serving the mission of ACCC by providing financial support to the college and its students. Foundation funds provide college scholarships to students with financial need, capital for campus improvements, and cultural and educational programs.