Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Atlantic Cape Presents 86 Communication and Art Awards

May 9, 2011

Atlantic Cape Community College hosted the 4th Annual Communication and Art Awards ceremony on April 30, at the Mays Landing Campus.

Mike Richman of WAYV’s “Mike and Diane Morning Show” and Chelsea Pizzi, Atlantic Cape’s public relations and social media specialist, served as emcees. The evening included an appearance by NBC-40 nightly news anchor Michelle Dawn Mooney, who was also honored as an Outstanding Media Professional, and student Gabriella Caloiero of Egg Harbor Township, cast member on MTV’s “I Used to Be Fat.”

Other speakers included Assistant Professors of Communication Keith Forrest and Joy Jones, College President Dr. Peter L. Mora, Alumna of the Year Alexandra Bednarek of Sea Isle City, and John Ledford of Galloway, 2010 recipient of the Communication Major of the Year award.

Six students competed for the Communication Major of the Year award, which went to Corinthea Harris of Ocean City.

Creative Writing, Theater, Painting and Computer Art Awards winners were: Best Poem, Taylor Coyle of Egg Harbor Township; Best Fiction, Marc Heil of Brigantine, William Tustin of Mays Landing; Best Short Fiction, Steve O’Connor of Sea Isle City; Best Memoir, Madison Russ of Ocean City; Best Drama, Alicia DeCesare of Absecon; Best Creative Writing, Tyler Carman of North Cape May; Best Postcard Fiction, Marquesa Rotuski of Mays Landing; Rewrites Award, Tyler Carman of North Cape May; Performing Arts Club Award, Luke Albert of Egg Harbor Township; Best Oil/Acrylic Award, Dino Smith; Best Advanced Art with Computers, Danielle Krout of Somers Point.

The Public Speaking and Drawing Awards winners were: Best Debate Speeches, William  

Lombard of Marmora, Diedre Smith; Best Informative Speeches, Zachary Garrell of Ocean City, Ashley Moore of Absecon, Bianca Matos of Galloway, Emily Rivera of Egg Harbor Township; Best Call to Action Speeches, Arielle Reamer of Galloway, Michael Sullivan of Wildwood; Best Persuasive Speech, Cortney Ziegler of Galloway; Best Drawing, Lindsey Frech of Cape May; Best 2D Work, Tim Ta; Best 3D Work, Jin Dong of Atlantic City.

The Mass Media, Digital Arts and Photography Award winners were: Best Mass Media Paper, Ashley Fryberger of Somers Point, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City; Best Mass Media Paper, Henry Wimberg of Absecon; Best Mass Media Project, Lauren Colella of Galloway, Reggie McKim of Mays Landing, Doan Tran of Atlantic City, Angela Xu of Mays Landing; WACC Award, John Velazquez of Newtonville; TV Club Award, Anatole Lin of Galloway; Best Digital Arts Work, Michelle Souza of Ventnor City; Best Photograph, Kimberly Perkins of Brigantine.

The News and Ceramics Awards winners were: Best Journalist, Arielle Reamer of Galloway; Best News Story, Justin Adams of Oceanview, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City, Joel Sachs of Egg Harbor Township; Best Commentary, Kenneth Kin of Galloway, Joel Sachs of Egg Harbor Township, Matthew Turner of Woodbine; Atlantic Cape Review Award, Ryan Sheehy of Somers Point; Best Intro to Ceramics, Melissa Selleck of Atlantic City; Best Intermediate Ceramics, Adam Jones; Best Advanced Ceramics, Sarra Zura of Margate; Art Club Award, Kaeyatu Harris of Mays Landing.

 The Public Relations, Interpersonal Communication and Craft Awards winners were: Best Press Release, Amanda Axelson of Cape May; Paul Venesz of Longport; Best PR Project, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City; Best PR Practitioner, Anastasia Arakhlanova of Atlantic City, Sharon Hicks of Wildwood, Haley Smith of Mays Landing; Best Interpersonal Paper, Robert Marshall of Ocean City, Madison Russ of Ocean City, Daniel Sanchez of Mays Landing; Best Interpersonal Project, Edwin Alicea of Pleasantville, Anthony Burgos of Hammonton, Camila Gutierrez of Spring Hill, Fl., Madison Russ of Ocean City, Hiram Mercado of Atlantic City, Jacklynn Narvaez of Mays Landing, Stefanie Pistone of Hammonton, Christina Rivenback of Egg Harbor Township, Daniel Sanchez of Mays Landing; Best Craft, Katherine Sear of Mays Landing.

Pioneer and Achievement Awards winners were: Best of Art Show, Kristin Watson of Pleasantville; Outstanding Achievement, Madison Russ of Ocean City; Volunteer Service Award, Julianne Scott of Oceanview; Professional Pioneer, David Capelli of Nesco; Kathy McGowan of Absecon; Student Pioneers, Jamie Forand of Egg Harbor City, Corinthea Harris of Ocean City, Sean Logue of Havertown, Pa., Robert Marshall of Ocean City, Erin Martin of Mays Landing, Kelly McHale of Egg Harbor Township, Arielle Reamer of Galloway, Madison Russ of Ocean City, Julianne Scott of Ocean View, Lizette Salomon of Egg Harbor Township, Robert Speirs of Absecon; Faculty Pioneer, Kathy Corbalis of Glassboro.