Atlantic Cape News

Media Contact:

  • Stacey Clapp
  • 5100 Black Horse Pike
  • Mays Landing, NJ 08330-2699
  • College Relations Office
  • (609) 343-4907

Board Approves Strategic Plan, Full Communication Degree

February 24, 2011

Atlantic Cape Community College’s Board of Trustees adopted a five-year strategic plan and approved offering a full communication degree when it met Feb. 22.

After hearing a presentation by Dr. Richard Perniciaro, dean of facilities, planning and research, the board adopted the new 2012-2016 Atlantic Cape Strategic Plan and commended the planning team for its work.  The plan was endorsed by the board’s long-range planning committee at its recent meeting.

“This is a milestone event in the history of the college and will guide our planning and budgeting over the next five years,” said Dr. Peter Mora, president, after the meeting.

The board also approved converting the college’s communication option in liberal arts to a communication associate in arts degree with six tracks.  Enrollment in the communication option has grown to 100 majors since its introduction in 2006, and the expansion will allow the program to grow further. 

The recommendation was made based on local high school programs and student interest; labor market projections and needs; local and national enrollment trends; and two- and four-year communication program curriculums.  Joy Jones and Keith Forrest, assistant professors of communication, explained the need for the expanded program and outlined new courses it would feature. If approved at the state level, the degree will be offered in fall 2011.

Trustees Approve Faculty and Staff Reappointments for FY’12

The board made these reappointments for one year, effective July 1, 2011:

Administrative and Supervisory Personnel Included in the Bargaining Unit: Lisa Apel-Gendron, Torrina Bennett-Michael, Avon Chapman, Josephine Chivalette, Cynthia Correa, Paula Davis, Tammy DeFranco, Linda DeSantis, Carol Drea, Dorothea Dunayer, John Feldbauer, Christine Gamboa, Nicholas Ganaway, Megan Gargiulo, Patricia Heller, Leslie Jamison, Dorie Keener, Maria Kellett, Michael Kernan, Kathleen Landau, Linda McLeod, John Mohr, Luis Montefusco, Michelle Perkins, Heather Peterson, Geoffrey Pettifer, Anita Polanco, Nancy Porfido, Regina Skinner, Mariangela Sozio, Patrick Sweeney, Sherwood Taylor, Harry Whitelam and Michael Wozniak.

Exempt Administrative and Supervisory Personnel:  Kathleen Corbalis, Cindy DeFalco, Sean Fischer, Patricia Gentile, Douglas Hedges, Otto Hernandez, Bruce Johns, William Keener, Jean McAlister, Ronald McArthur, Patricia McClay, Richard Perniciaro, Paula Pitcher, Bobby Royal Sr., Carmen Royal, Therese Sampson, Charles Schaeffer, Catherine Skinner, Mark Streckenbein, Robert Townsend, Arthur Wexler and Grant Wilinski.

ACA Educators: Annmarie Chelius, Philip Cragg, Suzanne Feye, Michael Huber, Daniel Matt, Mary Theresa McCann, Jeffrey Phillips, George Richert, Joseph Sheridan, Vincent Tedeschi, James Usilton and Linda Wohlman.                                      

Faculty Without Tenure: Maryann Flemming-McCall, Claude Fortune, Karl Giulian, Joy Jones, Joseph Krafft, Jolie Hamilton Master, William Osler, Judith Otterburn-Martinez, Christina Ranelle, Beth Sanders-Rabinowitz, Shirley Shields, Sonia Taylor, Mary Wunnenberg, Zhe June Xu and BoJan Zilovic.

These Faculty Earned Tenure with This Appointment:  Carolyn Coulter, Leila Crawford, Christine English-Martin, Barbara Heard, Thomas Innocente Sr., Gwen McIntyre and Stephanie Natale-Boianelli.

Counselor I: Lynette Ingram, Dennis Jones, Hal Lugerner and David Pringle.

Counselor II: Ellen Splaver.

Librarian I: Leslie Murtha.

In Other Business, the Board:

--Approved the Jan. 31, 2011, financial statement.

--Agreed to apply for an in-kind donation of archery equipment from the Easton Foundation Equipment Grants for USCA Clubs, to be delivered by June 2011.

--Approved a National Science Foundation grant application under the Advanced Technological Education program, Small Grants for Institutions New to ATE. The grant would total approximately $200,000 and run January 2012 through December 2014.

--Approved an application to the American Association of Community College’s Plus 50 Completion Strategy Grant program.  The award would total approximately $12,000 and run January 2012 through December 2014.

--Honored departing Trustee Chris Seher with a plaque in recognition for his service to the college.

Board Approves Purchases, Contracts:

--Architectural and engineering services, hospitality wing addition to the Worthington Atlantic City Campus, Blumberg Associates, Atlantic City, not to exceed $411,100.

--Collection agency services, two-year contract, AR Resources, Blue Bell, Pa., 20 percent commission.

--Copier, Cape May County Campus Division Office, state contract, Xerox Corp., Cherry Hill, $34,594.

--Fire system upgrade, Simplex Grinnell, Egg Harbor Township, not to exceed $49,000.

--Career Focus magazine, Academic Marketing Services, Van Buren, Mich., not to exceed $35,000.

In the President’s Report:

--Dr. Mora spoke about the reception held recently at the Academy of Culinary Arts for aviation industry leaders and government officials interested in the NextGen Aviation Research and Technology Park.  College officials highlighted programs that support the NextGen project as part of the presentation.

--Dr. Patricia Gentile, dean of continuing education, resource development and the Cape May County Campus, reported on two recent development activities--a $10,000 gift from Crest Savings Bank for scholarships and the initial meeting of the college’s new Planned Giving Advisory Council.

--Dr. Mora reported on his appearance on the radio program, “In the Community with Thelma Witherspoon.” He spoke about items featured in his State of the College address and took questions from listeners.

--Dr. Mora and Sean Fischer, executive assistant to the president/director, board services, attended the annual Association of Community College Trustees’ “Community College Legislative Summit.” The president met with elected officials and governmental leaders to discuss issues important to the college.

--Bobby Royal, dean, Worthington Atlantic City Campus, community affairs & security, reported the Atlantic County Chapter of the American Conference on Diversity presented “Business & Community Impact of Health Care Disparities Due to Race and Ethnicity” at Atlantic Cape recently. Trustees Eric Reynolds, Maria Torres and Helen Walsh attended the conference and offered insights on the event.

--Kathy Corbalis, executive director, college relations, gave an overview of major media coverage received by the college since the last board meeting.

--Fischer reviewed the Board Development & Activity Calendar for the coming month.

The next meeting of the Board of Trustees will be held at 7 p.m., Tuesday, March 22, at the Worthington Atlantic City Campus, 1535 Bacharach Blvd. All are invited to attend.